Leaving behind money or legacy?

Tribute Post to T Ravi Chitty.

Ravi Chitty

Ravi Chitty

It was 12.15AM in the morning a week ago.. my phone beeped. In it a message read, Pray for Ravi, he suffered a heart attack, we’re at the hospital and the doctors are trying to revive him. Barely 15 minutes later, another message followed to say that he has been called back by the lord. At 12.30 in the morning, though i knew there was not much i could do, i left the office to head down to the hospital to join my relatives. Ravi was 54.

Growing up with Uncle Ravi was quite fun. He was always that uncle that always had some kind of joke to cheer you up. Listening to stories about him was fun too. He has always been regarded as that uncle that would always lend a hand to others. Though it might be burdening to himself. No questions asked. That’s Ravi.

Over the next few nights, hundreds of people swarmed in to fill the funeral parlour to pay their last respects to Ravi. Not only was there no empty seats left, but at each wake, people were standing right up till outside the hall.

And it was there that i heard of stories of Ravi that has gotten me to write this post today. My uncle Ravi never lived a life of luxury. He just lived a life to provide the best he can to the people he loved and yes that included friends. And at his funeral, stories of how Ravi has touched and inspired so many peoples lives were told.

I reflected this exact moment in my life.. up till that very moment where i received that message on the passing of Ravi, i was in office.. at 12.30 in the morning.. and to think.. work was not done. I asked myself today. Why? Is it worth it? Well for starters, i am sort of a workaholic. I really love working. But…..

Over the past week, i have been thinking. It’s almost 4 years now since i started Paranormal and what started off as a 2 person operation in a space that was borrowed to us, has turned into a 25 man operation in a place we now call our own studio. It’s been tremendous and it’s been life changing. But is it all worth it? Yes i drive a much nicer car now. I dont have credit problems anymore. I eat anywhere i want. I buy pretty much everything that i think is worth buying. But really. What if it was me leaving this world tomorrow? What legacy would i have left behind?

And so, business planning over the past week has actually started changing. I now aim to make less money, and aim to lessen my own workload. I’m not exactly sure how yet, but yes plans are on the way. I’d like to take more time moving forward to do things that are really meaningful. Changing people’s lives. Developing talents more seriously. Giving more people opportunities to shine bright like a diamond. And although this all means i make less money.. it’s really ok. I’m not in it for the money. I’m in it to leave behind a legacy.. and hopefully some money for the people that loved me.

I’d like to thank all the people that have been supporting my business & crazy ideas over the past few years. I owe this success today to a lot of people. I’d hope to continue working with more brands still. But i’m gonna start leaving the day-to-day business to my team and start working on creating memories for brands. Let’s see if i can do that in the next 2 years.

On behalf of the team at my Social Media arm Paranormal Solutions, my Talent Management arm, Paranormal Talents, my newly formed record label, Paranormal Records, and my production arm ParanorMalaya Productions. Thank you for believing in us. Our sincere apologies if we have wronged anybody in anyway.

Selamat Hari Raya, Maaf Zahir & Batin,

Live life to the fullest. #YNWA

– Melakaboy (22nd July 2015)

About melakaboy

Nonsensical and crazy as i already am, i'm still good at what i do... that's me! crazily efficient.

Posted on July 22, 2015, in Life as [Mr.P!]. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Shocked to learn the passing of Ravi Chitty. He was always cheerful & lively. Was with him for 3 weeks at Camp Cameron during my varsity days in the early 1980s. The Lord has his timing & purpose. May the peace of God which passes all understanding rests with his family & loved ones

Leave a Reply

