Slow Down.. it’s ok! #Thaipusam2016

2016-01-24 06.59.52

In case you don’t know what Thaipusam is all about, you might be keen to read up on this post i wrote back in 2009 when i made my first climb up Batu Caves. (Read)

So, it’s been 7 years i’ve been climbing Batu Caves for Thaipusam. It was almost been the same the previous 6 years, the test of Endurance, Determination, Patience & Focus. Without these 3 factors, chances you might not make it up the caves on Thaipusam Day. It’s tiring, super long queues and the smell is just plain horrible. The experience has taught me throughout the years not to take things for granted, and be patient and work relentlessly for what i want to achieve. And i’ve made it this far.

However, 2016 was a whole new ball game for me. This year, the traffic climbing up Batu Caves was cut by about 40%. Apparently there are some bomb threats and probably because it was a long weekend also, therefore people took to climbing on different days. On a normal Thaipusam day, climbing up 242 steps takes a lot of patience, you take step by step as it’s just like an almost non moving traffic jam. This year, it was slow moving traffic. Now, this meant that it was moving, but you almost cannot stop. Because if you do, you cause a human crawl behind you. So what do you do, you force yourself to climb and climb until you make it to the top. In about 15 minutes, i made it up and have lost every bit of stamina i have left in my body. I was feeling like how an unfit person felt.

This, to me, was something to blog about because i take every experience i have as a lesson from the Almighty. This Thaipusam, i learnt that moving too fast might not be the best thing ever.. and i realise, for the past 6 years, my life is as such. At work, and even at home, i’ve been bulldozing forward, hungry for success. I now realise that because of this, i sometimes forget to rest, forget to eat, and forget to love my friends & family and that’s not cool by me. As much as i love my work, my talents, i also love my friends & my family.

And so, 2016 will be a year i manage my time a little better. Build my team a bit better. Delegate more work, and trust my team. Yes, this would mean i make less money. But hey, I’ve been telling all my talents all this while that the work we do, is not just for the money. We do it because we love it, and that is what matters.

Thank you for reading.. and if your life is moving too fast, take a breather and think back. What are your priorities in life? are you headed in the right direction? Are you happy?

I hope this post brings you peace. Do share it with your friends, or family who have been working so hard to make ends meet. Let them know that you appreciate what they are doing but it’s ok to just take a breather. Sometimes, that helps make things clearer.

Melakaboy, Jan 2016.

About melakaboy

Nonsensical and crazy as i already am, i'm still good at what i do... that's me! crazily efficient.

Posted on January 25, 2016, in Life as [Mr.P!]. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

